Book eleven: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe #Lewis

Originally published in 1950, although second in the sequential stories, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe was the first of the Chronicles to be published and is probably the best known of the seven novels.

Set 40 years after The Magician’s Nephew The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe see 4 siblings, Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy, evacuated from London to stay with the now grown up Professor Digory Kirke.  There through a wardrobe they find a doorway to another land, Narnia.  The land is in the clutches of an evil White Witch and the children find themselves key players in a battle between good and bad.

Re-reading this book was like taking a time machine back to my childhood, it was always one of my favourite books and I adored the BBC adaption.  Sunday evenings curled up in front of the fire eating sardines on toast I was convinced I could be as brave and courageous as Lucy given the chance to visit a magical world.  Obviously as a child I was unaware of some of the deeper Christian symbols and themes within Lewis’ writing.  Whether you choose to explore the Christian themes or not this is a magical book and a joy to read.

As previously mentioned, I will do a more thorough review once I’ve completed the series.


Leave a comment

Filed under Book review, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s